Wondrous Word Wednesday

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme from Bermuda Onion where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and write a post.

The first word I found in an online post on deadspin.com

mellifluous - mel·lif·lu·ous adj \me-ˈli-flə-wəs, mə-\

1 : having a smooth rich flow <a Mellifluous voice>

: filled with something (as honey) that sweetens

“I have no idea why rhyming books are more fun, but they are. If a book rhymes, then I can really get into the performance of reading it to my kid. I can figure out the rhythm of the text (though it can take a couple pages to sort it out—”Oh, I see! It rhymes every THIRD line! TRICKY!”). I can sing it. I can do voices. I can become mellifluous. I can PERFORM. It’s really a parent’s time to shine when the text rhymes.”

 

I found this word in Insatiable by Meg Cabot

uxoricide  ux·or·i·cide  noun  \ˌək-ˈsȯr-ə-ˌsīd\

 1 [Medieval Latin uxoricidium, from Latin uxor wife + -i- + -cidium -cide] : murder of a wife by her husband
2 [Latin uxor + English -i- + -cide: a man who murders his wife
“Whether that was because he’d seen his father murder his mother before his very eyes – it had been a different time and place, when uxoricide hadn’t been all that uncommon, but still, Lucien hadn’t approved  - or because he’d been turned too young, Lucien had never been sure.”
The last word I found in my newest ARC, Horten’s Miraculous Mechanisms by Lissa Evans (you’ll hear more about this in my upcoming Mailbox Monday)
sylvan   1syl·van  noun \ˈsil-vən\

: one that frequents groves or woods
“‘When I was a youngster,’ his father told him as they walked, ‘there weren’t any houses in this part of Beeton at all.  This whole area was sylvan.’”
What new words did you come across this week?


2 Comments

Filed under reading, Wondrous Word Wednesday

2 responses to “Wondrous Word Wednesday

  1. I hope I never have occasion to use uxoricide. Thanks for participating!

Leave a Reply

