Bookish News & Dystopian Novels

I read today that Charlaine Harris plans to end the Sookie Stackhouse series next year.

You can read the GalleyCat article here.  She said her last book, Dead Ever After, would go on sale May 2, 2013.  Deadlocked, the twelfth book in the series was release May 1, 2012, which makes Dead Ever After the thirteenth and final book in this series.

Just this morning I was going through a couple of the many books stored in my garage.  As I go through them I mark if they are part of a series, and if so, what number.  I was surprised at how many long-running series there are.  For example, Rage by Jonathan Kellerman is the 19th book in the Alex Delaware series, and Dead Midnight by Marcia Muller is the 21st book in the Sharon McCone series.  I am starting Finger Lickin’ Fifteen by Janet Evanovich as we speak.  I love long-running book series, but sometimes they run out of steam long before the author comes to closure with the series.  What are some of the series you’ve read and enjoy?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

20th Century Fox acquires self-published novel Wool by Hugh C. Howey.  Wool is a dystopian novel written in the summer of 2011, and Howey has since written another four books in the series.  Wool was picked up by Century, a division of Random House, and coincidentally the publisher for 50 Shades of Grey.  You can read the first three chapters of Wool here.

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt has acquired the eBook rights to “We Can Remember it For You Wholesale,” the short story by the late Philip K. Dick that inspired the Total Recall movie in 1990 and an upcoming remake.   See trailer below.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have become a big fan of dystopian and zombie novels this year, and here are some of my favorites that I’ve read so far:

  • Passage by Justin Cronin
  • Legend by Marie Lu
  • Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry
  • Dust & Decay by Jonathan Maberry
  • The Other Life by Susanne Winnacker
  • Hollowland byAmanda Hocking
  • Hollowmen by Amanda Hocking
  • Sundered by Shannon Mayer
  • Bound by Shannon Mayer
  • Dauntless by Shannon Mayer

Some that are on my To Be Read (TBR) list are:

  • Wool by Hugh Howey
  • Tomorrow, When the World Began by John Marsden
  • The Twelve by Justin Cronin
  • Prodigy by Marie Lu
  • Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin
  • The Remaining by D. J. Molles
  • Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood
  • Patient Zero by Jonathan Maberry

I get into a type of book and I run with it – I may spend months reading Sci-Fi, then go straight to murder mysteries, or non-fiction – who knows! Right now I’m in dystopian/zombie mode and Janet Evanovich.  I’ve only got three more to go before I’m done with the Stephanie Plum series, so I’ll have to find something else to get into.  What type of books are you into right now?

11 Comments

Filed under reading

11 responses to “Bookish News & Dystopian Novels

  1. Oh how I love Stephanie Plum! I just finished 13, but I’m trying to drag them out a little bit because I’ll be so disappointed when I’m caught up! I think I just finished #6 for Sookie, so I still have plenty more to look forward to. Shame that it’s coming to an end though! And I really enjoyed The Passage by Justin Cronin! So long, but it was really enjoyable. I was actually quite surprised by it!

    • Brittany,
      I’m going to start #15 of Stephanie Plum as soon as I finish “Life as we Knew it” – I totally see what you mean about it being a more realistic dystopian novel, and more scary because you can totally see it happening!!!
      I can’t wait for the second Justin Cronin book!!! There are supposed to be three total!
      Muzette

  2. WHAT?!?! I had no idea Charlaine Harris was going to STOP writing Sookie Stackhouse novels!!! :( I’ve only read the first 8 books. This is shear torture… Also, Total Recall looks good.

Leave a Reply

