Armchair BEA 2012 – Introduction

Armchair BEA is for book bloggers who can’t attend Book Expo America and the Book Blogger Convention in New York this June (June 4 – 8, 2012).  So we don’t have to miss all the fun – this virtual convention is the place to be!

It’s a dream of mine to get to attend BEA in person, but since I can’t do that this year, the Armchair BEA is a great opportunity to stay connected and feel like a part of Book Expo America.

An incredible new feature that Book Expo America is providing for those of us not able to be at the event is LIVE streaming video of a few of the biggest happenings at BEA!  Feel free to click here to get the code for your own site. (For some reason I can’t get this to work, but I hope you can!)
BEA Live Streaming begins Tuesday, June 5 at 8:30 am ET with BEA’s Book and Author Breakfast and continues on two live channels through the end of BEA on Thursday, June 7.
Because the meet-and-greet is the quintessential part of any get-together, and to encouraging ongoing networking throughout the week, Introductions First is going to be the opening event of Armchair BEA 2012.  There are 10 suggested questions, and we are asked to choose at least 5 and answer them to share a little bit more about ourselves.
Here are my questions and answers for the Introductions Self Interview:
  1. Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?  I am a proud mom and wife, a book lover, I love the look and feel and smell of books, I love reading, and I love talking about books, which explains the main reason I got into blogging!  I wanted to find other book lovers, and encourage other people to become readers.  I have a personal blog that is just a little blog about my life, and what is going on at the moment.  I don’t write on it every week, just when something happens that really strikes me.  I started this bookish blog in October, 2011.  I didn’t do a lot with it the first three months because I didn’t really know what to do to drive readers to my blog, and I had a bit of “Why would anyone want to read what I have to say?”.  I started exploring other bookish blogs, found some ideas, joined some memes, and have worked to be consistent in my posts.
  2. What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2012?  I am one of those multiple book readers.  Unless I get dragged into a book, mind and soul, I typically have three to four books going on at one time.  Right now I’m reading Smokin’ Seventeen by Janet Evanovich, The Remaining by D. J. Molles, and Brisingr by Christopher Paolini.  I read several different types of books, and every once in a while I’ll get into a theme where I read one kind of book or one series of books until I run out of steam.  One of my favorite books/series this year is what I call “brain candy” – books that don’t make you think really hard, just fun, easy book.  The Shifters series by Rachel Vincent was that for me.  Another book I really really enjoyed was A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness.  A friend recommended it, and once I started, I could barely put it down.
  3. If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why?  I know a lot of people are reading the Shades of Grey trilogy and are enamored with Christian Grey – while I’ve read the first two books, and after the second book I did like Mr. Grey, he’s not who I would want to hang out with.  This changes from time to time, but currently, I think the character that I would most like to have dinner with would be Stephanie Plum, the main character in Janet Evanovich’s longest running series.  She totally cracks me up, and she loves pizza and sweets as much as I do – although she seems to handle it better metabolically!  :)
  4. What literary location would you most like to visit? Why?  My first choice would have to be Narnia – I read the entire series multiple times growing up, and again as an adult, and with the recent movie adaptations capturing what I had imagined Narnia to be, I would love to go there.  The talking animals are an added benefit.  My second choice would be the Shire from the Lord of the Rings series.  Although I am a bit tall for their homes, I do have a Hobbit Name – Firiel Whitfoot (find your hobbit name here). The Shire is such a beautiful, green, peaceful place.
  5. What is your favorite part about the book blogging community? Is there anything that you would like to see change in the coming years?  My favorite part of the book blogging community is getting to “meet” other bloggers who also love books.  Finding out other tips and tricks from more established bloggers, and developing friendships is a wonderful thing.

It’s not too late to register to participate in this year’s Armchair BEA – go here to register.

To meet other bloggers participating in Armchair BEA, visit the BEA Armchair Introductions blog post.

Happy BEA week!!!


23 Comments

Filed under Armchair BEA

23 responses to “Armchair BEA 2012 – Introduction

  1. #1 – I love your header. :) So awesome!

    #2 – I need to read the Shifters series…. it has been on my wishlist for a while. And A Discovery of Witches sounds so good!

    • Chrystal,

      Thanks, for a while it was too dark, so I finally took a picture of my favorite (looks-wise) book collection and lightened up the page!

      I enjoyed the Shifters series, hope you get to read it, and I loved “A Discovery of Witches” – I’m reading the ARC of the second one now, and loving it too!

      Muzette

  2. Pingback: Armchair BEA – 2012 – The Future of Book Blogging | Up All Night Reading

  3. Narnia would be fantastic. And also the Shire. A few years ago I went to New Zealand with the family and convinced my dad to let us go to visit some of the countryside where they were filming. Although there were no hobbits about nor their homes, it was beautifully lush and gorgeous.

    I also really loved A Discovery of Witches. I can’t wait to get around to reading the sequel.

    • Color me jealous! I’d love to visit New Zealand! I bet it’s absolutely beautiful!

      I’m excited for the next book to come out – I may reread “A Discovery of Witches” just before!

  4. Ahhhh, Narnia. Why didn’t think of that beautiful and magical place? I love the look of your blog by the way. So very classic. *grins*
    Happy Armchair BEA to you!

    My Introduction

    • Johanna,

      Thanks, I recently updated it, it was too dark before. :) I enjoyed your introduction! Hope you’re enjoying Armchair BEA and Teen BEA this week!

      Muzette

  5. I would want to go to Narnia too :) I’ve heard so many good things about a Discovery of Witches! I want to read it soon.

    • Jessica,

      I hope you enjoy “A Discovery of Witches”, I’m excited because the second book is coming out in July! I followed your blog, and loved your BEA Interview – Everneath has been on my TBR list for a while!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Muzette

  6. Narnia!! I’ve always wanted to go there, and would die to go there! That would be so much fun. =) Anyways. I also love meeting new book bloggers, that’s definitely one of my favorite things about book blogging. It’s wonderful to make bookish friends, so you always have someone to talk to when you finish an amazing book and just have to rant.

    It was great to learn more about you! Have fun during Armchair BEA! =)

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

    • Thanks so much, Aneeqah! This is my first BEA, so I’m excited about it! I love getting to meet and chat with other book lovers as well! What’s not to love? :)

      Muzette

  7. Oooh, yes, I’d love to meet Stephanie Plum. I always skip that kind of question because I worry I’d be too boring and wouldn’t have anything to say, but nothing with Stephanie is ever boring!

    Good luck with your blog, and enjoy Armchair BEA.

    • Laura,

      It’s hard not to enjoy Stephanie. Even if you get tired of her personally, she’s at the very least entertaining! :)

      I’m excited about Armchair BEA – it’s my first year!

      Muzette

  8. I’m with you, I read multiple books at one time. Well, not literally, but I alternate through them. It happens that I’m only reading two right now, but sometimes it’ll be up to 5 or 6 at any given time.

    My intro post is here: http://bookslistslife.blogspot.com/2012/06/armchair-bea-introduction-lisa-books.html

    • Lisa,
      It’s rare that I find a book that excludes all others. Some of the Stephanie Plum/Janet Evanovich books have done that for me, as well as “A Discovery of Witches”, but usually I’m alternating constantly.

      I enjoyed “meeting” you on your intro blog! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

      Muzette

  9. I love the feel and smell of books, too! So funny that you should say that because I don’t find many bibliophiles like us loving the fragrance of a real book! ;) I’d love to visit Narnia, and the Shire, too, and I appreciate you giving us the link to the BEA live streaming. Off to put that on my blog. Nice to meet you!

    • Thank you! It’s nice to meet you as well, I read your introduction post and followed your blog! I don’t know anything about Last Chance Rescue series, so I put it on my TBR list.

      Muzette

  10. I loved the Shifter series too! It was one of those series that kind of sucks you and no matter how much I wanted to smack Faythe–it kept me pulled in!

    Narnia would be wonderful to visit! Could you imagine? I could spend forever there!

    Great getting to know you :)

    • Felicia,

      Somehow I thought I had already responded to you, but WordPress says no! Sorry about that! I agree, love the Shifter series, and can’t wait until the next book. I would love to spend forever in Narnia – how amazing! I would love talking to animals!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Muzette

  11. Ooh, Narnia! That’s a great answer!

  12. I imagine visiting narnia would be an experience! One that I’d not want to come back from!

Leave a Reply

