Saturday Snapshot

Saturday Snapshot is hosted by Alyce of At Home With Books.  It’s easy to participate – just post a picture that was taken by you, a friend, or a family member and add your link on Alyce’s site.   Photos can be old or new, and be of any subject as long as they are clean and appropriate for all eyes to see. How much detail you give in the caption is entirely up to you. Please don’t post random photos that you find online.

My lil’ heart is in a year-round school, so we get a very short summer break.  She was in school through 6/19, so we celebrated our first day of summer Wednesday by going to the local art museum, having lunch together and picking enough wild blackberries to bake a cobbler.

George Inness (1825-1894) Sunset on the River, 1867

William Merritt Chase (1846-1916) The Song, 1907

Mary Cassatt (1844-1926) Summertime, 1894

Theodore Robinson (1852-1896), World’s Columbian Exposition, 1894

Purple Echinacea and a cute little bug critter.

My lil’ heart making her own outdoor art.  My favorite piece in the place!

“Our” wild blackberry bush

Our blackberry cobbler!  Yummy!

PS – I’m currently on a mini-vacation, so I’m preparing this beforehand so I can hit “publish” and be done on Saturday.  No Saturday Savings post this weekend.

15 Comments

Filed under Saturday Snapshot

15 responses to “Saturday Snapshot

  1. Pingback: It’s summertime! | Up All Night Reading

  2. Oh my lord, that cobbler looks DELICIOUS. And your daughter is adorable – now I can put a face to the art. I always wanted to hold up a giant frame and take photos with friends – she’s got the right idea. As usual, your photos are lovely. : )

    • Cassie,

      If I could mail the cobbler with any success I would! I made lemon brownies tonight – with fresh squeezed lemon juice and lemon zest – if you like lemon, you must try this recipe!

      Thank you, she is so much fun. She made you something for this letter as well.

      Muzette

  3. You have wonderful art at your museum! I especially like The Song–that one seems to be speaking to me. :)

  4. What a wonderful day – food for the body, and food for the soul! My Snapshot is http://goo.gl/ou72V

    • Christine,

      I enjoyed your snapshot post – the gatehouse is lovely, and I enjoyed hearing about all the history behind the photos!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Muzette

  5. What a lovely way to start a summer vacation! Our blackberries won’t be ready until late July. We have a local wild patch a few blocks away that most of the neighborhood knows about and picks clean. :)

  6. What beautiful artwork! That all sounds like a great way to ring in the summer :)

  7. I love blackberries! They don’t last long enough around here to bake with them.

  8. The art photos are beautiful, and your li’l heart is lovely! I admire your garden too, all natural and healthy environs. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

