Tuesday Releases

I’m doing a little bit better about my previously mentioned book slump.  As an avid reader and book lover, I feel like somethings wrong with me when I’m not devouring a book!  Several friends suggested books they liked, and I’ve picked them up.  One I really really enjoyed was A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkenss.  I loved it, couldn’t bear to put it down, and had that bittersweet feeling when I finished it.  I picked up a “brain candy” book, one that requires no great thought process to read, Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs by Molly Harper, and that book made me really laugh out loud!  (I see lot’s of LOL’s on FB and texts, and I wonder if they are really laughing out loud or not).  I’m hoping to find another book that will grab me and pull me in.  Here are some new releases, maybe one of them will grab you! (or me).

Celebrity in Death (In Death Series #34)  by J. D. Robb (Released 2/21/12)

“Lieutenant Eve Dallas is no party girl, but she’s managing to have a reasonably good time at the celebrity-packed bash celebrating The Icove Agenda, a film based on one of her famous cases. It’s a little spooky seeing the actress playing her, who looks almost like her long-lost twin. Not as unsettling, though, as seeing the actress who plays Peabody drowned in the lap pool on the roof of the director’s luxury building. Now she’s at the center of a crime scene-and Eve is more than ready to get out of her high heels and strap on her holster and step into the role she was born to play: cop.”

(Maybe I should start at #1 of this series – with 34 out, this might keep me busy for a month or so!)

A Perfect Blood (Rachel Morgan Series #10) by Kim Harrison (Released 2/21/12)

“Ritually murdered corpses are appearing across Cincinnati, terrifying amalgams of human and other. Pulled in to help investigate by the I.S. and the FIB, former witch turned day-walking demon Rachel Morgan soon realizes a horrifying truth: a human hate group is trying to create its own demons to destroy all Inderlanders, and to do so, it needs her blood.

She’s faced vampires, witches, werewolves, demons, and more, but humanity itself might be her toughest challenge yet.”

I am not up to date on this series yet, but the ones I’ve read, I’ve really enjoyed!

 

 

The Garden Intrigue (Pink Carnation Series #9) by Lauren Willig (Released 2/16/12)

I’m only up to book #3 in this series, but it makes me happy that I have 6 more just waiting for me!!!

“Secret agent Augustus Whittlesby has spent a decade undercover in France, posing as an insufferably bad poet. The French surveillance officers can’t bear to read his work closely enough to recognize the information drowned in a sea of verbiage.

New York-born Emma Morris Delagardie is a thorn in Augustus’s side. An old school friend of Napoleon’s stepdaughter, she came to France with her uncle, the American envoy; eloped with a Frenchman; and has been rattling around the salons of Paris ever since. Widowed for four years, she entertains herself by drinking too much champagne, holding a weekly salon, and loudly critiquing Augustus’s poetry.

As Napoleon pursues his plans for the invasion of England, Whittlesby hears of a top-secret device to be demonstrated at a house party at Malmaison. The catch? The only way in is with Emma, who has been asked to write a masque for the weekend’s entertainment.

Emma is at a crossroads: Should she return to the States or remain in France? She’ll do anything to postpone the decision-even if it means teaming up with that silly poet Whittlesby to write a masque for Bonaparte’s house party. But each soon learns that surface appearances are misleading. In this complicated masque within a masque, nothing goes quite as scripted- especially Augustus’s feelings for Emma.”

 

 

What recent books have you been excited about?

2 Comments

Filed under New Books, other blogs

2 responses to “Tuesday Releases

  1. Sara

    I used to love all the J D Robb books–they were fast moving, had humor and lots of in-depth characters that interacted well with each other. Eve was edgy and passionate, and it was wonderful seeing her and Roarke develop their relationship over the years. She also had wonderful and complex stories that kept you turning the pages well into the wee hours of the morning.

    This story, like too many of the recent JD Robb books (except for Treachery in Death), slow down with too many conversations between Eve and Roarke that I’ve heard many times before in so many of her other books, and with what I consider “filler” as these conversations about her child abuse just go on and on with the same conversations, and nothing fresh. It seems that more and more of these same conversations are added, and it really takes away from the books. It almost seems like she is turning these books into a rehash of her other books, which I don’t read anymore, instead of continuing with the fresh and exciting plots from the JD Robb books. If this continues, I will have to give up on this author, as so few of the recent JD Robb books have held my attention and are what I consider “keepers”, to be added to my bookshelf and read over and over again.

    Not fast-paced, not a constant thrill ride, yet nevertheless a satisfying addition to the Eve and Roarke story that showcases a softer side of both characters.

    Have a nice day,
    Sara

Leave a Reply

