Wondrous Word Wednesday

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme from Bermuda Onion where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and write a post.

The first word I found in Vampire Sunrise by Carole Nelson Douglas.  It was right at the beginning – sadly, I wasn’t able to read much past that point.  One of the few books I just couldn’t get in to!

Simulacrum – an insubstantial form or semblance of something.  “And three, tracking down ‘Lilith Quince’ – my spitting image – to find out if she is a twin, double, clone, or simulacrum.”

The second and third I found in Murder Under Cover by Kate Carlisle – her Bibliophile series.

Elucidating –  verb \i-ˈlü-sə-ˌdāt\, transitive verb : to make lucid especially by explanation or analysis.  “Elucidating, yes.  Fun?  Not really!”

Fulminating – hurling denunciations or menaces.  “Then he gave me a fulminating stare and I mentally shrank a few inches.”

The last word I heard on a news cast, and didn’t remember ever hearing it before, so I had to look it up!

Abrogate – transitive verb – 1 : to abolish by authoritative action : annul, 2 : to treat as nonexistent <abrogating their responsibilities>

This was used in a report about the Italian captain who recently abandoned the cruise ship before all the passengers and crew.

In other news, thankfully I believe that my book slump is coming to an end.  I’m firmly entrenched in a book for myself, and with my daughter in her current “One Community One Book” event for our school district.  I am reading a very funny novel by Molly Harper, And One Last Thing,  and the book my daughter and I are sharing is The Sixty-Eight Rooms by Marianne Malone!  Yay, me!

9 Comments

Filed under reading, Wondrous Word Wednesday

9 responses to “Wondrous Word Wednesday

  1. Great Words Muzette! Murder under cover sounds really good! Glad your ‘slump’ is over:)

  2. And someone else had simulacrum today! Snap. Fulminating is very interesting, I’m very familiar with it as a medical term- a fulminant disease, is one with a brief, rapidly awful course. I’ve never seen this usage. Thanks.

    • Louise,

      Thanks for stopping by! I had a couple of people mention that they had seen simulacrum in another Wondrous Word Wednesday post! I will have to research it! Wouldn’t it be funny if we were reading the same book?

      Muzette

  3. Great words! I know elucidate. I thought I knew fulminate, but, if I did, I had the definition completely wrong! So I hope I haven’t used it.

    • Joy,

      LOL! I do the same thing – I think I know exactly what a word means, and find out it may be something different, then I try to remember if I used it, and how obvious it was that I didn’t know what it meant! 🙂

  4. I think someone else had simulacrum on their list this week, too. These are really interesting words!

    My words are here.

  5. I’m pretty sure someone else had elucidate in their WWW post today because I remember thinking I could remember it’s meaning because it has lucid in it. Thanks for playing along!

Leave a Reply

