First Letter of March

…and no, I don’t mean “M”.  🙂

As I mentioned in my previous post, I am participating in “A Month of Letters” in March, so today was my first letter.

I chose to write to my grandmother first, whom I affectionately refer to as “Peg of My Heart”.  This was the title of both a play, and a beautiful vintage book which I purchased and gave to her.

My sweet little grandmother just turned 93 years old.  She has always been one of my greatest blessings in life, and I absolutely adore her.  She raised her three kids, then when they were adults, she raised five foster children.  She’s incredibly talented, baking, sewing, fabric painting/stenciling and quilting.  She still sells her quilts (which she hand stitches on a quilting frame).  Although she is not a big letter writer, she enjoys receiving letters.  (who doesn’t?)  I try to send her cards on a regular basis, and one of my favorites was a “sound card” – one that begins playing a song as soon as it is opened.  I remember the first sound card I sent her – when she opened it and it began singing, it startled her so bad she threw the card across the room.  *giggle*  Of course, that means that I randomly send her sound cards in different shapes and sizes (so she won’t suspect), just to startle her and giggle to myself.

Well, today I didn’t send Peg of my Heart a sound card, I wrote her a letter.  I used some decorative stationary and wrote her a note.  It wasn’t long or even eloquent, but I had to send her my first letter of the month.  I can’t wait until she gets it!!!

Here is the stationary I used for this letter:

 

I didn’t use all of it, obviously, but for some reason these patterns remind me of sewing and of stitches, which of course reminds me of her.

I’m hoping to go visit in a few weeks, and when I do I’ll take some pictures to share.

 

If you would like to participate in the Month of Letters as a blogger or a letter recipient, please let me know.  (Details are in my previous post).

 

In book news, I’ve been reading a series written by Carrie Vaughn.  I’m currently reading the fourth book in the Kitty Norville series, Kitty and the Silver Bullet.  When I’m finished I plan to review the books as a series.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under fiction books, Month of Letters, reading

Leave a Reply

