Saturday Snapshot

Saturday Snapshot is hosted by Alyce of At Home With Books.  It’s easy to participate – just post a picture that was taken by you, a friend, or a family member and add your link on Alyce’s site.   Photos can be old or new, and be of any subject as long as they are clean and appropriate for all eyes to see. How much detail you give in the caption is entirely up to you. Please don’t post random photos that you find online.

I’m a day late – I know it’s not Saturday (at least not here), but I was gone almost all day yesterday, and the part I was home, I was baking and getting ready for a friend’s birthday party.  So…although I knew exactly what I wanted to post about I didn’t have time to sit down and do it.

I’ve recently become interested in my family genealogy, and have been tracking down photos, documents and grave sites.  I thought I’d share some interesting photos I’ve come across in my research.

This is a photo of Charles W. Talley, he’s about four generations back.  He looks like an interesting person.

This is a photo of my great-grandmother, Florence, and her youngest daughter, Cleo.

This is a gravestone of one of my ancestors – B. H. Noble.  The inscription on the stone says, “Another link is broken, in our household band, but a chain is forming, in a better land.”

 

 

This last photo is a picture of the Enumeration of Confederate Soldiers residing in Alabama from 1907.  Jalah Williams is a part of my family tree.

2 Comments

Filed under Saturday Snapshot

2 responses to “Saturday Snapshot

  1. I love that gravestone inscription! It really spurs the imagination to look at old family photos, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

