Wondrous Word Wednesday

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme from Bermuda Onion where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and write a post.

This word I found in Strindberg’s Star by Jan Wallentin

Ankh

Also known as key of life, the key of the Nile or crux ansata (Latin meaning “cross with a handle”), was the ancient Egyptian hieroglyphic character that read “eternal life“.

“Cave diver Erik Hall finds a dead body wearing an ancient ankh, buried deep in an abandoned mine.  Religious symbol expert Don Titleman seeks out Erik to study the ankh – but finds Erik dead.  Don is the prime suspect, and soon he’s being chased across Europe to escape a secret society that will do anything to get its hands on the ankh…”

I found this next word in Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne (ARC – Pub date 6/5/12)

glutted: an excessively abundant supply of something, supply or fill to excess

“I attempted to drive back to my home.  The highways had become glutted with cars and none were moving.  Around me, in the  cars, I could see some people blistering up and dying.”

This word I came across in A Replacement Life by Eileen Goudge

luftmentsh: an impractical contemplative person having no definite business or income

“He said, ‘if you don’t marry that girl, you’re an even bigger luftmentsh than I thought.’  David plucked the ring from the box and held it out to her. ‘Don’t you want to, at least, try it on?'”

 

What words did you run across this week?

2 Comments

Filed under Wondrous Word Wednesday

2 responses to “Wondrous Word Wednesday

  1. I knew ankh for some reason. I’ve known a few luftmentshes in my life – it’s an interesting word, but I’m not sure I could pronounce it. Thanks for participating!

Leave a Reply

