Mailbox Monday

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, a meme started by Marcia of  A Girl and Her Books.  The host for April’s Mailbox Monday posts will be Cindy from  Cindy’s Love of Books.

Mailbox Monday is a gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week and explore great book blogs.

Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

Books that came in my mailbox this week:

The Divorce of Henry VIII by Catherine Fletcher from Palgrave Macmillan (won from a ShelfAwareness contest)

“In 1533 the English monarch Henry VIII, married to Catherine of Aragon, fell madly in love with lady-in-waiting Anne Boleyn, the future mother of Elizabeth I.  No easy matter, procuring a divorce involved strenuous lobbying of the Pope in the exalted halls of the Vatican.  Henry’s lobbyist-for-hire in Rome was a wily Italian diplomat named Gregorio Casali who drew no limits on skullduggery – including kidnapping, bribery, and theft – to make his king a free man.

Set against the backdrop of a Rome recently sacked by the Spanish army and at the height of the Renaissance, winner of the Rome Fellowship Catherine Fletcher draws on hundreds of previously unknown Italian archival documents to revel the extraordinary true story behind history’s most infamous divorce, which led to the creation of the Church of England and changed the course of history.”

2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson from Hachette Book Group (also a win from ShelfAwareness)

“The year is 2312. Scientific and technological advances have opened gateways to an extraordinary future.  Earth is no longer humanity’s only home; new habitats have been created throughout the solar system on moons, planets, and in between.  But in this year, 2312, a sequence of events will force humanity to confront its past, its present, and its future.”

Books I got this week on my Kindle:

Rot & Ruin by Jonathon Maberry

“In the zombie-infested, post-apocalyptic America where Benny Imura lives, every teenager must find a job by the time they turn fifteen or get their rations cut in half. Benny doesn’t want to apprentice as a zombie hunter with his boring older brother Tom, but he has no choice. He expects a tedious job whacking zoms for cash, but what he gets is a vocation that will teach him what it means to be human.

Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker and Fifty Shades Freed by E. L. James

I’m sure most of you have heard about these books, as I have, they’ve been all over social media outlets and news stations.  I had avoided them just because they didn’t really sound like my style of book.  Finally a couple of my good friends from college told me they were reading them, so I finally agreed to read them.  I’m refraining from final judgement here, because I’m only 15 chapters through the first book.  So far, I’m not impressed, and in fact, I dislike Christian Grey.  One of my friends has assured me that she felt the same way, but the books got better, so I’ve agreed to continue on with them.  If you have any opinions or thoughts, I’d be interested to hear from you!

What books made it into your home this week?

Leave a comment

Filed under Mailbox Monday, New Books, reading

Leave a Reply

