Mailbox Monday

Welcome to Mailbox Monday, a meme started by Marcia of  A Girl and Her Books.  The host for May’s Mailbox Monday posts will be Martha at Martha’s Bookshelf.

Mailbox Monday is a gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week and explore great book blogs.

Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

Books that came in my mailbox this week:

Stress Pandemic by Paul Huljich from Midpoint Trade Books – releases July, 2012

“Do you feel anxious or on edge a lot of the time? Do you know you suffer from stress but feel powerless to stop it? Do you have trouble sleeping, lack energy and patience, feel frequent sadness or tension, or experience even larger stress-related health problems?
Many people would answer yes to these questions. The modern world is a breeding ground for stress; it comes in many forms and has a variety of causes, but any kind of stress can greatly inhibit life and take a serious toll on both body and mind.
Written for the growing number of people wishing to free themselves of mild, moderate, or severe stress, Stress Pandemic draws upon organic food pioneer Paul Huljic’s experience with stress-related illness, outlining a practical and effective approach to beating stress and achieving complete wellness. Huljich’s strategies address the underlying habits and tendencies that cause stress, and he offers a comprehensive lifestyle solution designed to promote both physiological and psychological strength and balance.
By learning and following Huljich’s uniquely powerful and integrated approach to wellness, readers can live stress-free in a natural and holistic way.”

True Believers by Kurt Andersen from Random House – releases July 10, 2012

“Karen Hollander is a celebrated attorney who recently removed herself from consideration for appointment to the U.S. Supreme Court. Her reasons have their roots in 1968—an episode she’s managed to keep secret for more than forty years. Now, with the imminent publication of her memoir, she’s about to let the world in on that shocking secret—as soon as she can track down the answers to a few crucial last questions.  As Karen reconstructs the past and reconciles the girl she was then with the woman she is now, finally sharing pieces of her secret past with her national-security-cowboy boyfriend and Occupy activist granddaughter, the power of memory and history and luck becomes clear.”

This past weekend was my local library’s bi-annual book sale – I made out like a bandit and came home with this stack for only $10.50.  My daughter also came home with 6 books – all Magic Treehouse and Junie B. Jones for $3.

The Case of the Bigamous Spouse – Earl Stanley Gardner

The Case of the Mischievous Doll – Earl Stanley Gardner (These two are Perry Mason books)

The Guernsey Literary and Potatoe Peel Pie Society – Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

Miss Julia to the Rescue – Ann B. Ross

The Art of Racing in the Rain – Garth Stein

And The Shofar Blew – Francine Rivers

Princess Ben – Catherine Gilbert Murdock

P’ere Goriot – Honore’ de Balzac

Does This Clutter Make My Butt Look Fat? – Peter Walsh

The Starter Wife – gigi levangie grazer

Don’t Blink – James Patterson

Alex Cross’ Trial – James Patterson

America – A Visual History From Then to Now – Life Books

I was especially thrilled with the Ann B. Ross ARC of Miss Julia to the Rescue because I do love me some Miss Julia!  I’m also a big fan of The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein, and have been wanting to read Princess Ben.  My little heart was happy about her haul of Magic Treehouse and Junie B. Jones books!

I was also given an entire set of Enclyclopedia Brittanica that were at the library book sale.  I told them that if no one wanted them  I would come pick them up this morning while they were putting away any left-over books from the sale.  Three big boxes in the back of my truck later….I now own an entire set!

PS – here’s what the stack of books looked like before I cropped it – if there is a chance to look adorable and/or be in a photograph, you can count on Sabertooth to show up.

What new books made it into your house this week?

10 Comments

Filed under Mailbox Monday, reading

10 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Great finds at the library sale! I loved ‘Guernsey’.

  2. You made quite a haul at the book sale! I see several good ones there. The Kurt Anderson book looks very nice as well.

    • Thanks, Alyce, I’m so thrilled with the library book sale finds! I liked your Mailbox Monday as well, “A House in Fez” looks interesting!
      Muzette

  3. I hope you love Guernsey as much as I did. Library sales rock!

    My Mailbox

    • Anna, I can already tell you that I do indeed, love Guernsey. I read it as a library book, so I was thrilled to find a copy to add to my personal library! 🙂
      Muzette

  4. Nice! I got True Believers also! I really have to find a library sale. All these posts are making me jealous 🙂 Enjoy!

    My Post

  5. Even Kitties agree there’s nothing like a good library sale. Lucky girl! You have so much good reading ahead. Have fun.

    • Thanks Martha, I’m so excited about all the books! I really enjoyed your recent review of “A Grown Up Kind of Pretty”, and put it on my ever-growing TBR list!

Leave a Reply

